Skip to content

In honour of Mandolin U Shrinivas…

September 20, 2014

Its hard to believe someone of my age who I saw growing up (in tv) right from my 10th year is no more. The golden boy of Chennai, the wizard from my school days is gone in a flash. I never got lucky enough to attend a live recital by Shrinivas. The truth is I have hardly been to 2-3 live ‘kutcheris’ (concerts) but Shrinivas being the child prodigy that he was, like Vishwanathan Anand of Chess, was so popular. I think I have already listed some links of his works in another post of mine.

Listing here some of his concerts.

Shrinvas in jugalbandhi with Zakir Hussain and Sultan Khan

Shrinivas playing as a young boy – this is how I/we saw him first in the ’80s.

Shrinivas in jugalbandhi with Zakir Hussain

An obituary to Shrinivas from ‘The Hindu’

http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/tamil-nadu/obituary-mandolin-u-shrinivas/article6426381.ece

Pray, Shrinivas is reborn on earth again, in Chennai again and grows up yet again into the legend that he was.

 

 

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

